Standing on the Sidelines Therese Vinal

Therese is the in stadium host for the San Fransisco Giants. She is the voice you hear before the game and even sometimes during games at Oracle Park.

What was your inspiration behind becoming a host? 

I have always loved public speaking and performing in front of people. It is a characteristic I have had since a young age. The actual career inspiration came when Renel Brooks-Moon, the Giants public address announcer, was the keynote speaker at my high school’s career day my sophomore year. It was her speech which inspired me to pursue my career in sports broadcasting and public announcing. 


Has baseball always been in your life? 

Baseball has always been a part of my life just like all sports. My dad is a high school football coach and my mom was a physical education teacher. Watching and playing sports with my family has always been a major component for spending time together. I grew up in the Bay Area and loved watching the Giants, 49ers, Warriors, Stanford and Cal athletics with my parents. They helped instill a love for baseball and all sports I hope to share with my own son.  


What is it like being a host for the Giants and what is your favorite thing about it? 

Being a host for the Giants is exhilarating. I love working with the production team, producing and hosting segments, conducting interviews, and interacting with the fans. My favorite part of the job would be executing a live segment that involves ad libbing.

What was your favorite interview or segment?

Some of my favorite interviews to conduct are with Giants alumni because those are the players I grew up admiring. My favorite segment was having some of the Giants players play “The Newlywed Game” with each other. The segment allowed the players to have fun and be themselves. It involved creativity and ad libbing which I love.

How do you balance mom life and working?

Balancing mom and work life is a challenge. It involves a lot of coordination and planning to attempt to make it all work. I don’t think I will ever master it, but it helps tremendously to have an amazing support system like my family and co-workers. I just try to make sure when I am with my son or at my job I am 100% present. It can be exhausting trying to balance it all, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

What is your favorite memory from working in the world of sports? 

It’s hard to pick just one, but I would have to say when I was working as a weekend sports anchor in Toledo, Ohio and I got to cover the Tigers winning the 2012 ALCS and playing in the 2012 World Series (which all Giants fans know how that World Series ended). 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started