Touching Home Blair Reynolds

Blair, Bryan, and Phoebe announcing their new addition

Blair Reynolds is Pittsburgh Pirates’ Bryan Reynold’s wife. Blair was a competitive gymnast as well as a cheerleader growing up. Brian made his Major League Debut on April 20, 2019 in Pittsburgh against the Giants. Blair and Bryan are also expecting a baby boy in September!

Fun Facts About Blair

  • She was a competitive gymnast for 13 years. After gymnastics she started cheerleading and was a cheerleader in college at Belmont University. Now Blair coaches high school cheerleading in the off season
  • She has a 5 year old shih-chon named Phoebe and she’s her world! Blair got her in college but now Bryan claims her as his own- they are completely obsessed with her. 
  • She majored in Psychology and minored in Education but after college she became certified as a Personal Trainer and worked in a Sports Performance gym before she started traveling with Bryan.
  • She is not a super picky eater but she absolutely hates carbonated drinks!
  • Bryan and Blair are welcoming a new addition to the family this year- They have a baby boy due in September!

How did you and Bryan meet? 


Bryan and I went to the same high school so I knew who he was but we didn’t actually talk until 2011. I was a senior and the student teacher for a theater class he was taking for an arts credit. We talked some in that class and then started doing math homework together sometimes. WE started dating in 2012 and we’ve been together ever since! 


Debut day is an emotional day. Take me through the emotions that come with that. 

Oh my gosh! Bryan and I were in AAA in Indianapolis, IN and we were just getting settled in. I think we had been in our new apartment for about two weeks and it was my first year traveling so we were getting adjusted to baseball life together.

Bryan had been playing well and on April 19th we had heard about a collision in the outfield in Pittsburgh that injured two players. We went to bed and Bryan decided to turn his volume up on his phone just in case he got the call. Around 11pm we were startled awake by his phone ringing and we both sat up and thought, “NO way!!”. Bryan was on the phone for a few minutes and then we both started celebrating. Bryan was very calm and collected, as always, and I was screaming and hugging him endlessly. We headed to the field to gather all of his stuff and didn’t sleep at all that night.

The next morning I took him to the airport at 5am and then I drove up to PIT for his first game. His parents were also in Indianapolis so we made the trip together.

We got to Pittsburgh about an hour before the game and we were so excited! They were playing the San Francisco Giants too which was so cool because Bryan was drafted by the Giants. The game wasn’t all we had hoped for- I think there were a few rain delays and the game went so late! Bryan got a hit though and the long and exhausting day was SO worth it- it really felt like a dream!


What is your favorite baseball memory? 


I think my favorite baseball memory was the College World Series in Omaha, NE. Bryan went to Vanderbilt and they played in the CWS in 2014 and 2015. I spent almost two weeks in Omaha both years watching him play and the environment there is unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. The stadium is packed and everyone is so into the game. The people of Omaha are some of the nicest people ever and made our time there so amazing! In 2014 Vanderbilt won the CWS and the celebration was so fun to be a part of. We made so many memories in Omaha and I’ll hold on to them forever!

What is your game day routine? 


My game day routine really varies! We get home so after games that we usually end up sleeping in until 10 or so. We make breakfast and we really enjoy watching The Price is Right- talk about an old married couple.

Bryan usually heads to the field mid-day and I try to take Phoebe on a walk and get a workout in before I get ready. I tend to watch the first few innings on TV and then head over to the game so Phoebe isn’t home alone too long.

After the games we always have a late dinner- usually Bryan brings me what the chef made at the field or there’s an occasional late night run to Taco Bell. We end the night with Netflix in bed around 12:30 or so.


Has baseball always been part of your life? 

Yes! I have a younger brother that played baseball and if I wasn’t traveling for gymnastics, I was usually at a baseball tournament. My dad is a big baseball fan and I grew up watching way too many Red Sox games with him and my brother. Then in high school I met Bryan and I’ve been watching him play baseball for 8 years now. 


What is your favorite stadium and stadium snack?


I have a few different ones for different reasons. My favorite baseball city is Milwaukee, I had never been until last year and I absolutely love it! I like the stadiums in Atlanta and St. Louis. Atlanta is such a fun environment and I like being back in the South during baseball season. St. Louis is always so crowded and the fans are great, plus it’s right across from the team hotel so I’m not late! I like the Padres stadium in San Diego too!

I don’t usually eat stadium food, I either eat dinner before or grab something to go and bring it in with me. If I had to pick a weakness, I like the “crab fries” from PNC park or chocolate soft serve with sprinkles.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started