Touching Home with Shelby Stripling

Shelby Stripling is Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Ross Stripling’s wife. Shelby was a teacher before traveling full time with Ross. Shelby loves all things fashion, travel, and interior design.

Fun Facts about Shelby

  • Before traveling full time with Ross, she was a teacher and taught the first grade.
  • She was twenty years young when she flew on an airplane for the first time. Shelby and family and her ironically traveled to California for vacation. 
  • She is named after Julia Roberts in the movie Steel Magnolia. 
  • Her younger sisters are twins.
  • She loves all things fashion, travel, and interior design.

How did you and Ross meet? 

Ross and I met at Texas A&M University through mutual friends. We started dating in 2013!

Ross and Shelby in Texas


Debut Day. How did you feel and what are the emotions that come with that? 

Up until Ross’ debut I watched him in college, grind through the minor leagues, and overcome an arm injury. You just want their dreams to come true and their hard work to pay off. Therefore, a debut day is filled with a mixture of anxiety and excitement. Ross’ debut in particular had double the emotions. He debuted against the Dodgers long time rival in San Francisco AND pitched seven innings with NO HITS! The emotions were there to say the least. 

When Ross got THE call I was back in Texas, right in the middle of teaching a lesson. I was so excited for him that my students and I had a dance party to celebrate. That weekend I flew to San Francisco for the his major league debut. Our family and friends took up an entire row at the stadium. We anxiously cheered for Ross and the Dodgers throughout the game. Luckily there wasn’t a full row of people behind me because I could not sit down nor stop praying. When Ross came out of the game, I felt relieved and filled with joy. His dream of making it to the big leagues came true and the rest is history. 

What is your favorite baseball memory? 

My favorite baseball memory is definitely Ross’ debut. Another favorite memory is when he pitched in the 2017 World Series in my hometown of Houston. 

Ross and Shelby in Houston during the World Series

Favorite baseball stadium and stadium snack?

My favorite baseball stadium is Wrigley Field in Chicago and PetCo Park in San Diego. I love the history at Wrigley, plus Chicago is my favorite city to visit during the season. At Petco Park they have the cutest little market that provides healthy food and beverages. 

My favorite stadium snack is chicken tenders with a side of ranch. They don’t call me Mrs. Chicken Strip for nothing LOL. 

Was baseball part of your life before you met Ross? 

Yes, and no. I enjoyed going to baseball games in college with my friends but by no means was it part of my life like it is now.

How are you staying busy during this “break” from baseball?

I hate the circumstances of being home right now but spending extra time together has been great. I have been trying to keep myself busy by puzzling, redecorating our home, watching Netflix, and cooking new recipes. Our favorite thing to do is to go on a pre dinner walk around the neighborhood. At little fresh air is good for the soul. 

Although these times are stressful and unprecedented. I think the silver lining of this “break” is having quality down time. Time to reflect, grow, organize, and appreciate things we have taken for granted. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started