Standing on the Sidelines with Jessica Kleinschmidt

Jessica Kleinschmidt is a reporter for NBC Sports Bay Area. Jessica covers anything from the Giants and the A’s to the 49er’s and the Warriors. You can read Jess’ posts with NBC Sports Bay Area here.

Fun Facts about Jessica

  • Jess is known for her love of chicken wings
  • She loves her eyelashes
  • Jess has never been on a rollercoaster
  • Her favorite job is being an aunt
  • She really wants a dog, especially a corgi. 

What was your inspiration behind becoming a reporter? 

My dad has always been my inspiration. My dad loved the game and passed that love down to my brother and I. My dad passed away when I was 19. When he passed, my brother quit but I stepped up to the plate (pun intended) and kept his legacy going. I was very stubborn and a rebel. I pushed his buttons a lot.

I also want to set an example for my niece and nephew. We all have the spark inside of us and I hope that they will follow that dream and do what they love. It is important to me that I support their dream. 

Jessica and her Dad

What has been your favorite interview and what is your dream interview?

My favorite interview was definitely Archie Bradley. He was a prospect that I followed for along time. We hung out in Arizona during spring training and he remembered me from then. It was really a full circle moment for me. After the interview, he said, “That was great.” As a reporter, that is the highest compliment you can receive.

My dream interview would definitely be Cal Ripken Jr. I would love to pick his brain. I want to talk to him about the difference between old school and the game now. Being from Baltimore, that would be a dream for me.

Jessica Interviewing Archie

What is your favorite part and the hardest part of your job?

Favorite part of my job is that I am always being challenged and trusted. I love to learn. I want to be able to talk about other sports, and not just baseball.

My job is about 98 percent Giants and A’s, but I also love being able to talk about football and basketball. I would say that the most challenging aspect of my job is that I constantly have to prove myself in this industry. Sometimes it feels like I have to present a resume every time I do something. 

What kind of advice do you have for women trying to get into the sports world?

I always joke and just say “Don’t do it.” If you say “screw you Jess I am,” then I will say “Okay, sit down and let’s talk.”

You are going to have to sacrifice your social life, so be ready for that. Unfortunately, with this schedule, I don’t see my family as much. I do identify with work and perfection. My goal is to be the Mike Trout of the sports industry. To get there, you have to believe in yourself.

Be prepared for any “curve balls” this industry throws your way. You really have to be your own advocate. Pick a mentor. This is very important. Pick someone that you look up to and can inspire you to get where you need to be. astly, stay true to yourself.

I try to keep it as real as it gets, but with the world we live in with social media, everyone tries to be so perfect. You have to be authentic and be yourself. 

What is your favorite stadium and favorite stadium snack?

My favorite stadiums are Petco Park and Oracle Park. My favorite ballpark snack, if I’m not working, beer and chicken tenders. I am a real sucker for a good 16 dollar beer.

How are you keeping busy during quarantine? 

Thankfully, I can still continue recording podcasts and FaceTime interviews, like this. I live with one of my best friends so it’s nice to have someone to go on walks with and just really hang out with. I have been able to take time to journal more. I am a sucker for a good quote, so I am keeping busy by finding new quotes. With my job, it is hard to have time to keep my room clean and organize so this time is providing that for me. It has been great for family time and I have really taken this time to fall in love with myself all over again.

A few months ago, Jessica called me and gave me a pep talk. This was the first time I had ever talked to her. Our conversation ended up not only helping me in that moment, but it changed my life. She told me, “do not worry about being the next whoever, worry about being the first YOU. How people react to your true self, is none of your business.” I try and apply this quote from Jess to my everyday life and when I find myself comparing myself to anyone, I always have Jess’s voice in the back of my head telling me to stop. Ever since that call, I have been living my life to the fullest and not caring what anyone has to say about it. I thank Jess for giving me the “wake up call” I needed because I am happier than I have ever been before thanks to that call.

Jessica is an amazing inspiration to everyone. She is a hard worker that is determined to give everything she does her best. She keeps it one hundred percent real and stays true to herself while inspiring others to be the best they can be daily.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started